Library Lines: Tuesday, 4 June 2019

If anyone is doing an autumn clean instead of a spring clean, remember that the library accepts donations of books in good condition. Just call in or check with us if you wish to know if your books are suitable for the library. If they don’t fit into our selection criteria, we place them on the sales trolley and use the money raised to buy new titles.

Coming to return your books on their due date and the library is closed?

There’s an after-hours chute to the left of the door. Just push open the flap and slide the books through, and we will mark them off your card the following morning, so you won’t accrue an overdue fine.

We’ve added plenty of new books to the library’s collection this week.

Amongst the new titles are The House of Second Chances by Australian author Ester Campion. ‘From coastal Australia to the rugged beauty of Ireland, an enchanting novel of starting over, in the tradition of Maeve Binchy and Monica McInerney.’

Set in 1914 and the fall of Russia’s imperial dynasty is Lost Roses by Martha Hall Kelly, a book which ‘celebrates the unbreakable bonds of women’s friendship during the darkest days of history’.

‘In the aftermath of war, the hunter becomes the hunted …’ in Kate Quinn’s novel The Huntress, this book ‘illuminates the consequences of war on individual lives, and the price we pay to seek justice and truth.’ And ranging from Budapest 1938 to Sydney in 2007 is A Universe of Sufficient Size by Miriam Sved. Paris is the setting for Sarah Morgan’s book One Summer in Paris, where two women are striving to find themselves after a major upheaval in their lives.

A new thriller added to the collection is The Malta Exchange by Steve Berry, a Cotton Malone thriller, where the characters search for ‘a document that dates back to the fourth century and Constantine the Great.’

All good reading, and all available for loan, for FREE, at Gunnedah Shire Library.

See you soon at the library!